6th Edward Baugh Distinguished lecture

Edward Baugh

This year, I will give the 6th annual  Edward Baugh Distinguished Lecture which  is put on by the Department of Literatures in English at the University of the West Indies, Mona.

Professor Emeritus Edward Baugh has earned an international reputation as an authority on Anglophone Caribbean poetry in general and on the work of Derek Walcott in particular.

An outstanding teacher, Professor Baugh has guided the  intellectual development of several generations of students at Mona.  I, myself, chose to do my PhD dissertation on Derek Walcott’s poetry and plays, largely because of Professor Baugh’s passion for the subject.

TheDistinguished  Lecture Series pays tribute to his stellar career.  Previous speakers  include Trinidadian writerEarl Lovelace,  Guyanese author/scholar Mark McWatt and Australian literary critic  Helen Tiffin, one of the co-authors of the foundational post-colonial text, The Empire Writes Back .  

4 thoughts on “6th Edward Baugh Distinguished lecture

Add yours

  1. Will be back “home” for the winter at the end of December and I hope to be able to attend one of your events. Please keep us posted as you did above

  2. Professor Edward Baugh is a dynamic professional who has done a remarkable job in the creation of a unique set of writing style which has be with us for a very long time now. I would like to extend my sincere thanks to Proffesor Baugh for his selfless contribution for the formulation of a very great English Department at UWI. His work wil stand the test of time and will be indelible in the minds of the academics of now and forever. Long live, Professsor Edward Baugh you are a beacon of light for people of varying ethnic origin who are ‘out of many one people’.

  3. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been conducting
    a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me dinner
    because I stumbled upon it for him… lol.
    So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!

    ! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to talk about
    this issue here on your web site.

  4. Great info. Lucky me I ran across your blog by chance
    (stumbleupon). I’ve saved it for later!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑